Digital Resource: Tiny Tap

I think that Tiny Tap has a great deal of potential as a digital learning resource.

When the staff from my children’s school first began to talk about the possibility of introducing an iPad program for primary-level students, I was curious about how the hardware would be used in the classroom. I had never before heard of Tiny Tap, but I can now imagine that teachers could effectively craft their own learning resources, using this, or similar, software, or find something appropriate that has been made by others

We really are entering an exciting time for engaging children in the classroom in new and interesting ways.

Despite being a resource for classroom iPads, the app I have created should be viewable from a P.C. here:

Tiny Tap

(Later addendum:

Please bear in mind that this resource is designed for iPads in schools. Many of its features will not work from a personal computer, and for this I apologise.)

This resource has been created for Year 5 or 6 Civics (ACHASSK115-116, ACHASSK143-145). It was a time-consuming exercise, but I found it a worthwhile and exciting challenge, and I believe that I have gained skills that will ensure that my next attempt is even better.

Evaluation Matrix

Name of Teaching Resource

Tiny Tap (The Government of Australia)

Weblink

http://www.tinytap.it/games/g1h5p/Government-Of-Australia

Who should this digital teaching resource be used with?

Year 5/6

Which subject or learning area would it be most appropriate to use in?

Humanities and Social Sciences: Civics and Citizenship

Identify the strengths of this teaching resource

When I was a child, a great deal of classroom time was spent copying text handwritten onto a blackboard, into exercise books. Tiny Tap allows educators to teach through the creation of games that engage children’s interest. I can imagine that this would be particularly effective in the middle years of primary education, at which stage the children have some beginning reading and computer skills, but the material presented can be still quite colourful and visual. I particularly like the matching and shape sorting capabilities of the application because they really held my children’s interest when I asked them to give me some feedback on the software. I think that these tools will solidify learning.

Identify any weaknesses of this teaching resource

Tiny Tap is an app for iPad, so while games may be viewable from a P.C., many of their features are either missing or do no work correctly when viewed from that platform. This may not be an issue where the app is being used as part of an iPad program, but would limit its usefulness if students were going to access their own technology at home.

Another thing that particularly bothered me was the ease with which information could be accidentally deleted. In order for the software to be useful, major alterations should be verified . It is too easy to accidentally hit a key and lose vast quantities of work.

Explain any ideas that you may have for the future use of this teaching resource

This was a wonderful learning opportunity, and I think that upon reflection, on future attempts I might make even more of an effort to utilise the interactive features of the program. I think that I made too much of an effort to base each slide on a separate idea, and in fact, more of a narrative style would be effective. A video could be broken into separate sections, for example, and each be tested by a game as the lesson progresses. I think that this would be most effective with children in middle primary level.

Reference List

*all images retrieved by Tiny Tap

Australian Curriculum, Assessment, and Reporting Authority. (2016) The Australian Curriculum. Retrieved from http://australiancurriculum.edu.au

Australian Government. (n.d.). Federation. Retrieved from: http://australia.gov.au/about-government/how-government-works/federation

Larsen, S. (2010) Preferential Voting. Retrieved from: http://www.abc.net.au/btn/story/s2960412.htm

Morey, S. (2013). Explainer: How does the senate voting system work? Retrieved from: http://theconversation.com/explainer-how-does-the-senate-voting-system-work-17768

Parliamentary Education Office. (n.d.). Educating, schools, students, and teachers about parliament. Retrieved from: http://peo.gov.au

Leave a Reply

